Boulevard Farm

Live on our urban homestead

Making Dinner July 30, 2012

Filed under: Rabbits — sarahtar @ 5:04 pm

Been a while, hasn’t it? We’ve been a little busy. Since my last post, I had a premature baby who was born with kidney failure, spent 3 weeks in the NICU, watched him undergo 7 or 8 surgeries, and spent a total of nearly 5 months in the hospital. Our black doe had babies – 5, but one died – and then our white doe had 8 babies, but they all died in the heat wave we’ve been experiencing (it’s been hotter here than, you know, the mideast. Not kidding.).

So… this past weekend, I harvested the four bunnies from the black doe. With help. Turns out, harvesting bunnies isn’t that hard. Even the killing them part wasn’t as hard as I was afraid it would be. Most people recommend breaking the bunny’s neck, but I was afraid I wouldn’t have the physical strength to do it. But, it worked out.

Making dinner, step 1

Beau Ebersole from Ebersole Cattle Co came out to show me how to skin and eviscerate the rabbits. I’m super glad I had his expert guidance – I could have probably stumbled through on my own, but learning from someone who’s done it before makes it so much easier.

So, now I have a bunny in the fridge for dinner this week (watch for another post) and three in the freezer.

I’m going to work on improving my technique with the next harvest, and then should be able to offer rabbit meat for sale. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

