Boulevard Farm

Live on our urban homestead

Chicken stock and Turkey stock November 29, 2010

Filed under: Food — sarahtar @ 2:01 pm

When we eviscerated the chickens, we kept the necks, gizzards, livers, hearts, and fat. Last Monday, I cleaned out the gizzards (which were full of rocks and ground up corn), gave everything a good rinse, and threw them in the crock pot with the other parts, a few carrots, some celery with leafy tops, a few bay leaves, a splash of vinegar, and some salt and pepper. Giving credit where credit is due, I was merely following Abby’s directions, as I’ve only ever made chicken stock with the leftover parts of roast chicken, and I never thought it was very great.

After it had cooked for about 24 hours, I strained out the large parts and put the liquid in the fridge to separate out the fat. I had been reading a few websites that recommended removing every last bit of fat from the stock before canning, but then started reading that this wasn’t so important, after all. I ended up just dumping everything back into the stockpot to make it liquidy and hot again, then canning in the pressure canner (11 lbs for 20 minutes).

Thursday after our guests had left, I did the same thing with the turkey. Except this time, the canner wouldn’t seal correctly, so I’ve still got the stock in my fridge and I’ll can it at Abby’s house on Wednesday. After that, I’ll have three cans of really concentrated chicken stock and five cans of less concentrated turkey stock. All with minimal effort.

 

One Response to “Chicken stock and Turkey stock”


Leave a Reply

