Boulevard Farm

Live on our urban homestead

The Rabbit Setup, Part 2 August 17, 2010

Filed under: Rabbits — sarahtar @ 1:50 pm

The other thing that’s important to me with the animals we keep is that as many of the They’ll Die If This Is Not Taken Care Of Every Day things are completed automatically. Because sometimes my life is a bit unpredictable and I don’t like worrying that my animals are suffering while I’m unable to check on them. The chickens all have food and water containers that will hold enough food or water to last them at least several days – the hens will last them at least a week. This doesn’t mean I’m not checking on them daily, because I am. But if I have to go out of town, or if I fall and break my leg and can’t get out for a few days, they’ll be fine.

So, in this spirit, I set up an automatic watering system for the rabbits. Everywhere I’ve read says that this is pretty much a needless expense for a small rabbitry, but without it, I’d need to fill water bottles every day, and I’m not cool with that. The setup wasn’t expensive by any means, and I’m excited about what it’ll save me in labor.

It’s basically a bucket suspended above the cages:
Rabbit Cages and Watering System

A hose comes out of the bucket and makes little stopovers at each cage, where it connects to a drinking valve.
Rabbit Cages and Watering System

Rabbit Cages and Watering System

It runs on gravity. My next task is to figure out if I can hook up the downspout to divert some water directly into the bucket, but I think that’s a job for next year.

I hope to be able to get by with a submersible water heater in the bucket for the winter, but I may need to make other plans. We’ll see.

 

2 Responses to “The Rabbit Setup, Part 2”

  1. heather Says:

    Very nice. We use crocks and it’s not a big deal to water them twice a day. Then again, we are never gone for long periods of time and our set up is completely different.

  2. Great setup! As far as the “cost” of keeping the water-ers thawed; you would probably be better off with a small space heater to keep the “barn” about 40 degrees. That way you don’t have to worry about your lines freezing up. Plus, bucket heaters are more expensive to run than a small space heater.


Leave a Reply

