Boulevard Farm

Live on our urban homestead

Cheese, glorious cheese… July 25, 2010

Filed under: Food — sarahtar @ 7:10 am

Making Cheese

So, Ginger gives us a lot of milk. And we don’t really drink that much milk, lol. We kind of got out of the habit, you know, six years of not drinking milk will do that to a person. I can’t even force milk down these days, and Wally’s a little wierded out by milk that didn’t come from nuts or grains, lol.

So, what to do with all the milk?

I’ve been making yogurt and yogurt cheese (and cheese-based fruit dip, which I am in love with) from our goat milk for months now, but Friday was my first foray into actual cheese making, by myself.

Making Cheese

I started out with some buttermilk, which can be made the old-fashioned way, or it can be made by mixing lemon juice or vinegar with fresh milk. I opted for the lemon juice method.

Making Cheese

And here is the buttermilk.Which I needed for the Cottage Cheese I wanted to make. I don’t really like cottage cheese, because I don’t like the slimy runny-ness of it. But homemade cottage cheese is dry, unless you add cream. Which I did not.

Making Cheese

Here is the cottage cheese cooking on the stove.

Making Cheese

Draining the curds. You can’t see it, but I put our colander over a five-gallon bucket, then line it with a muslin towel. The whey drains through the towel into the bucket, and is then fed to our chickens, who LOVE it. The curds, of course, become cheese.

Making Cheese

Here’s the finished cottage cheese. Dry. Yummy.

I also made some mozzerella, but I made it with half goat milk and half cow’s milk. It turned out a bit rubbery, but I was honestly afraid for a while that it wasn’t going to turn out at all. After you cook the curds, you’re supposed to drain off the whey and then basically knead the curds until they make the texture of taffy. There was a good long while there that I just couldn’t see that happening. I guess the key is keeping the curds hot enough while you knead. I made this recipe the cheater way – using the microwave to heat the curds – and I had to nuke them three separate times. (Because, ok, we have  a window unit in the kitchen, it’s the only AC in the house, and I was standing pretty much in front of it.) I think this accounts for the rubberiness.

Making Cheese

It is not bad, not bad at all. It’s actually very, very mild. The texture’s just off a bit. Next time, I’ll do it the old-fashioned way – heating the curds in either hot whey or hot salty water.

But YAY! I’ve read all over that it’s more than likely that your first batch of mozzarella will not turn out – I at least ended up with mozzarella!!

 

4 Responses to “Cheese, glorious cheese…”

  1. […] blogged about it, with pictures, over at Boulevard Farm. […]

  2. […] I’ve blogged about it, with pictures, over at Boulevard Farm. […]

  3. […] I’ve recently given cheese making a try. I wrote about it over at Boulevard Farm, my new Urban Homesteading blog. This entry is filed under Food. You can follow any responses to […]

  4. […] Posted on July 25, 2010 by sarahtar Blogged about making cheese over at Boulevard Farm. So there’s “Try Making Cheese” […]


Leave a Reply

